Making Iron Man: Helmet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ironclover

So I have recently begun sculpting Iron Mans helmet from the new movie. I am sculpting it out of clay and then going to make a mold and thats when casting shall begin. Here are some of the first progress pics.

Ironman004-1.jpg

Ironman005-1.jpg

Ironman006-1.jpg

Anything to add would be great. This is my first time doin anything like this. Thanks.

IC

Well thank you skupilkinson.

That was the progress of about a week ago, then I realized that it was a bit too small.

So I went out and bought some more clay and slapped it on. I have just started to re carve the eyes.

keep a mirror near while you sculpt, every now and then, look at the sculpt in the mirror.

mirror hmm? well ill try that!

thanks for the tips and encouragement.

I will have some new progress pics tomorrow because I had to make it a bit bigger...

Also, what type of clay are you using? Water or oil based? That will make a difference..if you attempt to mold it.

Good job so far!

Well, I believe I am using a water based clay.

I went to the nearest craft store and saw that they have 5 lbs. buckets for 10 dollars. It is made by Crayola... I know its the little kid craft company, but it has been working out fine so far.

Well in the mornin when I post the new pics it will look totally different because I had to basically restart... but I like it better so far.

And here are some new update pictures....

DSC00244.jpg

DSC00243.jpg

DSC00242.jpg

DSC00241.jpg

I tried to add a bit of the clay container so you could see what I was talking about.

I have to run to the store to pick up some more clay and more tools because two of them broke last night.

IC

Yes doc, I am planning on moldin.

What I actually am planning all together,(I havnt let anyone be aware of this yet, but might as well let it out sometime.)