The Seriously Ultimate Assault Rifle Build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, so I've just found this site recently and am diving head first into a build with a friend, Metalfr3q.

I, being the electrician by trade, and having access through work to a plethora of microprocessors and general electronic gear, have been tasked with the job of weapons and armor electronics.

This is the list for the Assault rifle so far:

- Strobe light for muzzle flash - PCB 90% finished

- Microprocessor for electronics control and ammo counter - Schematics 90% finished

- Ammo counter count down from 32, with single shot and full auto modes, operating as per the game

- 12V Sealed Lead Acid battery in hand grip for power

- On/Off button in correct location on weapon

- Solenoid (or two pending room inside gun) with weight to simulate recoil

- Reload to be accomplished by removing and reinserting ammo cartridge

- Voice recorder to produce firing sound of the rifle

- Functional LED torch (1W Luxeon or similar)

Technical description ahoy...

I am almost finished drawing up the PCB for the strobe circuit. This will be triggered by the microprocessor so the strobe flashes will be synchronised with the gun firing, the strobe will be capable of flashing up to 20Hz or so, but it will be limited by the firing rate of the rifle. The strobe circuit will be isolated from the rest of the system through the use of a opto-triac, just to be safe. I'll also be adding a bleed resistor to the discharge capacitor so no lingering charge will remain for any period of time.

There will also be a sound/voice recorder that will playback the sound of the gun firing, triggered from the same output as used for the strobe.

The solenoid will be triggered from the same output, but via a darlington pair of transistors, so no relays will be present to click or wear out.