Tips for Folding and Glue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sskyhawk

Hey Guys,

I am new to 405th, and this is my first post. My friend and I started making our first helmets together, and we are starting to resin out helmets now, but we keep noticing online, people with these PERFECT folds and therefore perfectly crafted armor. Now I have to say I think we did pretty good for our first try, but both of our helmets are just slightly tilted, and I think this is due to our folds. I am a perfectionist, and I thought we weren't doing a bad job, but like I said our helmets are slightly lopsided. We are definitely going to finish these helmets, but I was just looking for some tips, hints, and tricks that would help make our pieces nice and crisp in the future. Also I was curious to see if anyone had any preferences over a specific glue or adhesive for the pepakura stages of creating the helmet. We found this glue at my job that dries in about a minute or two, but I figured I would see what some other people might suggest. Thanks for all of your help! :)

For making the folds really clean, you can use your exacto knife to score the fold lines. To do this, just run the blade along the fold lines to cut through roughly the first layer of the paper, but not all the way through. This will allow the paper to fold straight along the scored line. That should help with having very clean folds. As for the glue, I've just been using Elmer's white glue and it's been working fine for me.

i use the scoring method as well but i use the dull upper edge of the xacto instead of the sharp one. and i use super glue brand super glue as it dries very fast and holds strong.

Hey Sskyhawk, i am also a beginner, so i don't really have folding tips. But as for the glue, i just use a couple of drops of hot glue since it dries fast and holds pretty well. If it ever looks like the glue is sticking out when it hardens, i just sand it down.