What Is The Most Durable Resin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PainTrane

I love this website, and everyone here does amazing things! I'm a noob, and I've been watching lots of videos and reading all kinds of help topics. I just have a quick question...

I've already checked for related topics, but I couldn't find a clear-cut answer. So please don't shun me.

I am planning on making custom paintball armor (nothing elaborate), and I need to know your opinions on what kind of resin I should use to make my armor. I play extreme paintball. I run, dive, slide, slam into bunkers, roll, etc.

Is there such a material I can use that can withstand moderate abuse? I don't want my armor cracking in half on the field. I know you guys are experts, so I approach you all in a very humble manner!

I'm obivously not making elbow and knee pads, I can buy those! I already have combat boots, a helmet, and tactical gloves.

I want to make enough armor to cover my shins, arms, upper thighs, chest, and back.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:
This isn't to bash you in any way, but you are not going to get the help needed on this forum. This site is for props and costumes, not functional armour, not even for paintball. I believe it's stated somewhere in the rules. If you want to make paintball armour (even if I don't believe you will be running, diving and sliding in rigid armour), you have to seek assistance elsewhere.

I get you, no big deal. I'm not looking for help in actually creating functional armor, I'm just curious as to what type of resin is pretty strong. No other help needed.

I agree with Ace.

This place is just to make 'armor' for a con or to just fool around in. Not to protect you from projecttiles.

My adive is to just buys Sport pads cuth them up and use those as your 'armor'. Since those have been tested to take a beating.

Fiberglass strands hurt like *Beep*! If they get stuck in your skin you're going to be in a world of hurt!

-Pony