ironman mk 7 build up

Status
Not open for further replies.

propfreak

Jr Member
lots of armor planned this year and going to kick it off with my ironman mk 7 armor. complete foam build with a resin helmet!!
image10_zps7001aa63.jpe

arm_zps51cf0e22.jpg

chest_zps5dde1d41.jpe

shin_zps164aa6b8.jpe

helmet_zpse82ca7b8.jpg

build ups this year
ironman mk 7
war machine
Halo ODST ( been in the works for a year now with a local group should be casting the armor next month!!)
custom spartan

Off to a really good start. I am liking how clean your foam work is bro :)

wish I could take credit for that one im still learning how to do a clean foam build. foam parts are from another builder im just assembling and painting this one.

I did start my war machine just not much to show yet
the arc
arc_zpsaa0e73f8.jpg

also started to cut out the helmet templates so I could have that peped by the end of the week

would be happy to go over any of my painting techniques if you have specific questions let me know. my process for painting the foam is I start with coating the foam part with wood glue. I normally do 1 or 2 coats and then sand to a smooth finish. I then apply one coat of gloss mog podge from the bottle and then finish with 2 coats from the spray can. to begin painting I will then clear coat the part with my automotive clear and while the clear coat is drying spray adhesive promotor in to the clear. this will allow the paint to flex somewhat. I do spray the adhesive promotor down before the clear coat. I then prime the part ( I had problems with priming over the mog podge but this seem to fix the problem and got a smoother finish) then spray your base coat and clear while adding your adhesive promotor while both coats are drying. I went thru about 6 parts before getting things right so would suggest practicing on something if you can. hope this helps!