Project Exmarine To Spartan

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone!

I thought it was about time to start to give back to the 405th community by creating a thread of my build.

First off, I'd like to thank Adam for creating this website and all the wonderful pep modelers for making some outstanding models for the rest of us to enjoy. Also, I'd like to thank Thorssoli for creating such a comprehensive thread on his build, I view that coasty's thread almost daily!

I started back in February with the goal of being a full fledged Spartan in high def armor for Halloween 2008. For the reason of winning first place at my work's Halloween party. I work in the aerospace industry in Satellite EM components, so i thought Master Chief would be cool, since he's a bada$$ and space related.

Being that I'm a natural born artist, coupled with that Marine Corps can do anything attitude/attention to detail and not to mention I've done way harder pepakura before, i jumped right into doing a M6G to get into pep mode...then right into FS's Assault rifle, a brief intermission with a helmet tester then FS's final version HD helmet.

The results were fantastic:

DSC01262.jpg

I then filled the rifle with urethane foam for rigidity and started detailing it, i have yet to resin the outside. I still need to figure out what i'm doing with the hand guards...most likely some cardboard/crafty bondo sculpting.

Then day by day week by week i pep'd and pep'd...Robo's HD hand plates, Robo's HD boots, FS's HD torso, Robo's HD biceps, Nugget's HD forearms. Then i hit the HD pep wall! With no more HD things to do I decided to start fiber glassing.

DSC01273.jpg

So far i have a hand plate helmet and the torso glassed

Helmet glassed and then painted to see where i have to bondo:

DSC01274.jpg

Then added some details and bondo: (still needs lots of cleaning up)

DSC01286.jpg

DSC01285.jpg

DSC01284.jpg

Torso:

DSC01282.jpg

Sternum details:

DSC01290.jpg

DSC01287.jpg