Flood(Halo) vs Reapers(Mass Effect)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AngelicChaos

I want to know what people think about these two major threats from different universes. The flood from Halo and the Reapers of Mass Effect are similar in many ways-
  • Ancient beings that predate much of known history
  • Holds galactic knowledge powerful enough to destroy civilizations
  • Have caused mass extinction(s) across the galaxy
  • Use their enemies to increase their own forces
  • Led by a powerful mastermind (flood: gravemind, reapers: catalyst)
  • Has telepathic abilities
Those are just a few things. I'm no expert, but I consider myself somewhat informed. I love learning about the lore of games.
Some questions to think about.
  • If the flood and reapers were to fight each other, who would win?
  • Which would be worse to face off against?
  • Which is scarier?
There are no wrong answers. If you want, give reasoning or facts. Feel free to ask any questions.

Oooh, this is interesting! It'd be hard to say who'd win between the two without knowing a whole lot about the biology of both species. At first I started thinking the Flood might win, as unlike the Reapers, the Flood will latch onto and take over life, but then
A. Are the Reapers even "alive" for the Flood to take over?
B. The Reapers also have those swarms of bugs that paralyze creatures.

The Reapers have firepower and are sentient, but I also believe the Flood has a better ability to infect life. Another thing they have in common is that they are not driven by emotion; rather by either pure reason, or a primal urge to dominate.

Oooh, this is interesting! It'd be hard to say who'd win between the two without knowing a whole lot about the biology of both species. At first I started thinking the Flood might win, as unlike the Reapers, the Flood will latch onto and take over life, but then
A. Are the Reapers even "alive" for the Flood to take over?