General Questions to my first Spartan Armor build

Status
Not open for further replies.

karuzo

Hello,
my name is Jonathan and I'm 21 years old. I am a German who got addicted to Halo 3 in 2008. I have played all games, read the most books and really love everything around Halo :)

The cosplay scene in Germany is not that big but I knew for a long time that there are some dudes, building Spartan armors in real life. And I want to build one for myself since I saw it the first time.
Now I want to get my hands on this project. I have no experience in doing cosplay stuff or building armors etc. But I am good in crafting and building things, I restored an old car for example. So technically I'm good to go.
Money is not a problem but it shouldn't go over 2000$.
Time also doesn't play any role, I calculate with over a year (600+ hrs).
The armor should be near perfection. Many people use simply a black bodysuit as an "underarmor" for example. I want to make that better. I want to create a really awesome, detailed, realistic Spartan armor :D!
To my questions:

I know some dudes building the armor out of foam. But does it look really good? I mean it's a soft material. Do they harden the parts in any way?

What are the pros and cons using foam or fiberglass+bondo?

I think it's called Paperkura? Is it a good base to build the armor? How do u start if u don't use it? Are there many different halo armors I can print out or even relatively new armors like from halo 5? (I didn't decide yet which armor I want to build exactly)

Do you stuff out your armor pieces with foam to make sure they sit tight on the body? Because I saw a guy from the side and could see through a gap between the chestplate and his chest.

Do you know of any attempt to build a halo armor out of metal? :D would be epic but I don't have the skills/tools to do that.

What other kind of materials beside fiberglass, eva foam, bondo, paint etc are good to use?