New to foam, not to 405th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duckster18

Jr Member
Hey guys, I haven't been on here in 2 years and haven't finished my first build(looking to get back into it). I've also been seeing a ton of foam builds that look amazing and I'm looking to start a Halo 4 foam build, once my original build is finished. I know foam is way less expensive than a pepakura build, but I just don't know where to even begin, besides looking up foam templates and cutting them out. After that, I have no experience with it. I was gonna make the helmet with pepakura(seeing as it'll last and I can wear with any suit). Does anyone have any tips, tricks, or guides I can follow?

I have finished one full suit with foam, and am a good ways into another. Some general tips that I would pass on are:
Sharp knives will make your life much easier. Simple exacto, or box cutter knives work great. Be sure to have replacement blades close at hand, or a sharpening stone to keep your blades sharp.
Hot glue works well for holding everything together. With patience and experience you can get very clean seams.
Contact cement is also a good option for gluing it all together, however it is a slower process than with hot glue.
You can make templates from any pepakura file. I print on card stock, as it makes tracing easier, and I pin the patterns to the foam.
You can make pretty much anything with 90* or 45* cuts. I use a simple wooden block to make cuts.

I do have a basic video guide I made that might be useful. Best of luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks man! That's super helpful! I wanna finish my first build and then work with foam. It just seems a lot easier to me and way cheaper. I do wanna make helmets out of pepakura, resin and bondo. The helmets just seem like the better option. Some people though bend the foam, which seems mind blowing to me cause its suppose to be a fairly tough material. Do you use EVA foam?