Plywood Energy Sword

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone,

I'm new here, but I am a total Halo fanatic. I am very into the Martial Arts, as well as airsoft currently. I started an airsoft team here in Santa Fe. Our theme is the ODST's, official name being (and sorry, it's very long-winded) 105th Expeditionary Division, 7th Shock Trooper Battalion, Zulu Company.

When it comes to the Martial Arts, I particularly specialize in fighting with the Japanese Sword (I've been doing it for about 4 years now, fyi). Anyways, I've been looking at how the Sangheili fight with their energy swords, and decided to see how it could be turned into a real sword-fighting style. Low and behold, it is actually extremely effective.

So, I decided to start making some easy-to-produce "energy" swords for the team, upon request of course, and plan on teaching the guys how to use them. Tonight I've been working on the template for these things, and have decided to make them out of plywood with rounded edges for the sake of convenience.

I'll post pics later if anyone's interested.

Disclaimer!!!!!!

Do NOT try using wooden swords of any kind for airsoft. Not only could you get shot at close range (which is dangerous FYI), you could seriously injure the other person. In other words: DONT DO THIS AT HOME!!!!

Wait... Are you building these swords to use during your airsoft games or do use with your friends? Either way it sounds cool.

Hey, thanks guys. Yeah, to use with friends and in airsoft. Let's see if I can sneak up on the other team. Our first game against them is going to have a ten-foot deep trench, so I thought "hey, I should make some of these for trench raiding!

neat idea. have you thought of using the eva foam and layering it with some type of support inside the layers. would be lighter, rigid and if you did hit Someone with it (on purpose or accident) they would not be injured or end up with splinters. would probably be cheaper too.