smooth cast with fibreglass

Status
Not open for further replies.

pitong

hi, i'm new in 405th, i live in flat and i haven't got a place where i can use toxic resins etc. so i bought smooth cast (i know it's toxic too ,but not that much as resin) I wonder if anybody tried use it with fibreglass instead of resin. I have paper model of astartes helmet and i'm in the middle of putting smooth cast with resin inside of it. Parts of it which are already covered with it are pretty hard, but i don't know if there is sense in covering whole helmet.
P.S. sorry for my english, my education with this language ended up few years ago and i don't use it

I used smoothcast 300 and 320 for all my helmets and weapons build and as far as I know the smoothcast liquid plastic itself is strong enough to stand normal wear (no need to mix with anything else). I only used it to cover the inside of my stuffs by sealed the outside piece with mod podge or white glue and pour a few small batch of smoothcast mixture on the inside.

hi, i'm new in 405th, i live in flat and i haven't got a place where i can use toxic resins etc. so i bought smooth cast (i know it's toxic too ,but not that much as resin) I wonder if anybody tried use it with fibreglass instead of resin. I have paper model of astartes helmet and i'm in the middle of putting smooth cast with resin inside of it. Parts of it which are already covered with it are pretty hard, but i don't know if there is sense in covering whole helmet.
P.S. sorry for my english, my education with this language ended up few years ago and i don't use it

SmoothCast doesn't smell, but that doesn't mean it's any less toxic than polyester resin. It's just a different kind of "toxic", and if I had to choose, I'd prefer polyester resin precisely because of the smell. The smell warns you, you know..

I hope you aren't trying to mix SmoothCast with any other kinds of resin? What you can do is use SmoothCast with fibreglass. But not with any other resin.