EVA Foam Vs Alternatives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SkyBox

Hey I am new to Costume and Prop making and I am both a Star wars and a Halo Fanboy if you want to call it... And I really want to make costumes for both however I have a bit of a problem, Here using EVA Foam seems to be fine among users and whatnot however over on another Costume Form the MMCC Mandalorian Mercs Costume Club says otherwise... they dont really say what is wrong with it, just that they will not pass it past inspections if I want to be a real member of the community. Here is a Quote from their application
  • EVA foam is not an acceptable armor building material for the MMCC. EVA foam MAY be considered for use on parts such as “soft cods” and “soft” knees. It will be a suitable material to back plating on knees and such for comfort. Any EVA that is visible, ie. soft cods and soft knees, will be HIGHLY scrutinized. It is HIGHLY recommended that if you choose this route, you heavily incorporate the App Team in the WIP and apply any suggestions to increase the probability of acceptance.
Now I want to be able to use other alternatives like fiberglass however I have asthma and being 16 and still living with my parents does not help as they are pretty defensive when it comes to this stuff... If I say something about getting a respirator they say its too expensive... So i go check amazon and find them for 20-30 bucks I tell them and they instantly say and i quote "THOSE ONES ARE CHEAP AND PROBABLY NOT UP TO CODE FOR WORKING WITH FIBERGLASS" Now I just wanna ask you guys

A. What is the problem with Eva Foam i.e will it degrade over time
and
B. will a cheap 20$-30$ respirator be able to protect me from inhaling fiber glass I would like to get word from someone who works with this stuff so I can try to convince my parents (I am 15 btw) and if a 20$-30$ respirator wont work I would like to know so I dont have to constantly keep getting into fights over if i can use it or not.