Foam Air Assault and Sword Builds for Me and My Girlfriend (Comic-Con 2012/2013)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did u know someone there, or did u get charged to use there laser cutter? By the way awesome work on ur costume and props!

Awesome work :)

Looks really good, btw you did have good pepakura skills !

I'm new at this point, and have some troubles with paper and glue :D

wow! lol even though there are a few downsides, it is still amazing! I am jealous lol

Hah, tendency to catch fire... no biggie, right? I will say though, the laser makes for some really neat looking edges. Makes it look like the armor was manufactured. Looks great so far!

Haha, that's genius! I can't believe nobody's ever tried laser cutting foam before. Just dont burn down the place in the process XD.

Man, I want a laser cutter.....

Did u know someone there, or did u get charged to use there laser cutter? By the way awesome work on ur costume and props!

To be honest, user of the laser cutter was born out of desparation. The deadline for comic-con was looming and there was really no way to cut all the pieces by hand. I certainly love the speed of the laser cutter but the downsides are all the pieces end up smaller and not fitting precisely because of the amound of foam being burned away and the cost! So, the maker lab let me have access to the laser cutter, but they charge $2 per minute of laser cutting time. As a bit of perspective, it appears the average sheet of foam takes about 4 to 5 minutes to cut out all the patterns so that's $10 right there, and something like a chestplate takes 7 sheets. You can do the math right there :(. In anycase, this is probably the most expensive Christmas gift I've ever given my sister. Though, f I get a yearly membership, I get like a half hour free a month, and if I teach a class (I guess I'm teaching foam armor making!) I get a free membership. So I guess I'll be steadily cutting pieces out over the course of the year...

Awesome work :)