Making My Own Halo 4 Master Chief Armor

NachoPipps

Hi, I am very new to foam working and this is my first big project. I am very open to criticisms and any tips or helpful advice for the future and I'll gladly share what little knowledge I have learned thus far. All pieces are made of foam and I'm using 1/2 inch thick foam mats with a smaller 5mm mat for small details. I did not make the helmet, it's just there for reference, but I do plan on making my own as soon as we can get the 3D printer up as it has some issues right now. I was inspired to make this by Impact Props series "Living with Chief" and I am going to make the helmet the same way they did. Please enjoy, and good luck to your own projects.

Attachments

• 2Arms.JPG
    2Arms.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 40
  • Arm.JPG
    Arm.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 42
  • ArmsWHelmet.JPG
    ArmsWHelmet.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 41

PlanetAlexander

Heya NachoPipps, and welcome to the 405th! You've got some really good detail on those forearms! Correct me if I'm wrong, did you use hot glue for seams? You've done a really good job at keeping the seams clean, but also take a look at contact cement - it's a really great adhesive for EVA foam.

What's the next piece you have lined up?

NachoPipps

Hi, I actually used contact cement, I personally use Barge all purpose cement but I'm pretty new to this so far. I was going to do the shoulder piece, but it didn't come with the file from the armory, so I'll probably do the shin armor then thigh armor, then piece together the shoulder armor if I cant find a file for it.

NachoPipps

You didn't sound rude at all, I just wasn't being too careful about getting the cement on top by accident, i just need to apply it in smaller amounts. It wont be visible after painting though, so I wasn't too worried about it. is it bad to get small amounts on top or is it just a visual thing? also, do you have any tips for scaling the chest piece?

PlanetAlexander