Practicality and Wearability

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zera Knight

405th, I am NEW to doing anything this large, but I'm starting the process of gathering materials and supplies to start my first Full build, but am looking for some information, How do you cope with the heat of the helmets? I ride with a full face MTN bike helmet in Texas and it can over heat just sitting around with it on, and it is designed to allow air flow, but I don't see that allotment for air flow in any helmet designs, Has anyone experimented with adding say a Micro CPU fan and creating a forced air flow system? Also I see a lot of builds that just add padding into the shell, has anyone had luck using EPS to contour better to the head? or is that just creating more air flow issues?

With these helmets you almost need small cpu fans. I made a 300 spartan helm and its open mostly and it still gets warm. A lot of the helmets have air ports or something similar already built into design of the helmet. Using mesh screen or other materials you can open these vents and hide the fans behind those.

With these helmets you almost need small cpu fans. I made a 300 spartan helm and its open mostly and it still gets warm. A lot of the helmets have air ports or something similar already built into design of the helmet. Using mesh screen or other materials you can open these vents and hide the fans behind those.
Thanks UnderDog, Do you know of where I can see a project that incorporated something like the mesh?

I can't seem to find the thread I saw it in. The easiest example would be the vents on the side of an ODST helmet. Cut them out and put mesh on the inside.