[WIP] ODST Armor

Status
Not open for further replies.

llNomadll

Hello guys! This is my first attempt at doing PePaKuRa craft thingy. And I have to say the folding part is much easier than I expected. I'm pretty happy with my first fold! (ODST Chest Plate)

But I'm wondering what should I do next. I'm supposed to Aqua Resin or Polyurethane Resin the inside and outside. Then Fibreglass mat the inside. Do I really need a respirator to do this? I think a respirator is a controlled item in Singapore :( Is an M95 Mask sufficient?

ODST-Chest-Plate-01.jpg

ODST-Chest-Plate-02.jpg

if you use aquaresin or smoothcast 320 on the inside, no respirator is required. But if you use resin or bondo, use a respirator. not sure about that specific respirator though. if it says it filters organic gases, its usually ok.

Looking good man. When you resin as long as you cant smell it youll be ok. But you need somthing to filter the air you breath. Being outside is also a must.

Looking good! As those above me said if you use a poly resin
A respirator and being in a well ventilTed space
Is a must

oh my bad. the way it was phrased it sounded like you meant that if you couldn't smell the fumes, then it was safe without a respirator. My bad.

Thank you for the encouraging comments guys! Gonna need that to complete the full set of armor because it can get really tiring! And I'm only at Paperkura Phase!

Okay, In summary I can use Aqua-Resin, Polyurethane Resin or Smooth-Cast® 320 Liquid Plastic. To which I would Fiberglass the insides.

Question 1) Can I use Smooth-Cast 320 with Fiberglass?
Question 2) I want my plates to be as hard as possible. How do I achieve this?

Oh, I completed my Stomach plate! :D
ODST-Stomach-Plate-01.jpg

ODST-Stomach-Plate-02.jpg

Progress Report:

I just compelted my side plates so I am only left with the Belt and Torso folds for the Torso Area.

ODST-Side-Plates-01.jpg

ODST-Side-Plates-02.jpg

ODST-Progress-01.jpg