• 9-11 hours

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • >11 hours

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Drazuam

First of all, before I make myself look like an idiot, how long does it take people here to make an entire high detail mk6 helm?

I'm starting to look at some peoples models and how they perfectly score every line, use elmer's glue, etc.

My Idea is Origami. I've been doing origami for ten years now (since I was 6), just in my free time, and I've gotten to the point where I can make very precise folds. What I think is that if one would do origami in one's free time, one could make very precise folds with ease. I'm not going to post how long it takes me to do a helmet yet, though, cause I don't know if I'm any faster than regular people.

Anyway, with origami, you can kind of see the way the paper wants to fold, and make crisp, clean folds according to that. Most pep pieces are like this, using folds where the paper want's to fold.

I think you can skip the scoring process completely with a little origami practice, and still have you helmet come out as clean as a scored helmet. (both of mine have, and I never score)

Ive never sat down and counted my hours... It took me the span of a month to finish my helmet. but it was my first pep, and I took my time. I'd figure the 10-15 hour range... if not 20. But I never strait up pep. I'll always be watching tv or something. kill the time. makes the pep slow and smooth, and the product is MUCH better than if I had rushed it. at least with my skill... :)

Origami paper is very thin compared to cardstock and sometimes the fold stops somewhere in the middle of a piece.

Scoring cardstock is essential to get crisp and sharp folds. Print out one page of card stock with the High-Def Mk. VI helmet pieces and try folding without scoring.

It's not necessary, but scoring makes your life easier and is definitely worth it.