UK Newb

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi and welcome to the 405th. There is a lot of information around, but I'd suggest you start by:

Watching this orientation vido:
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/15735-New-Recruit-Orientation-Video

Reading this complete Noob list:
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/14613-Complete-Noob-List

Reading this on how to use Pepakura to create the paper models:
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/1034-Tutorial-How-to-use-Pepakura-to-make-your-Mjolnir-Armor

Reading this on some of the forum's best practices:
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/27746-ATTENTION-NEW-(and-existing)-MEMBERS!-READ-THIS-NOW-PLEASE!

That's a start only. There is lots more reading required! Have fun learning!

The reading is continuous :)

But don't forget that at some point you will know enough to get started. Many of your questions will best be answered by actually building.

If you are a complete neophyte to using fibreglass, auto-body filler, etc, (as I was) I'd recommend starting with a straightforward project. Anything too complicated could be discouraging. A Mk V costume (MOZ's pep files are outstanding beginner pieces IMHO) or a low-def Mk VI (see the build in my signature block for an example). These are realistic beginner costumes for a NOOB and can be built in a reasonable amount of time.

But, in the end, choose a project and a plan that suits your skills, desired product and most importantly, will provide fun and a feeling of accomplishment.

All of which is my $0.02, and worth exactly that :)

But don't forget that at some point you will know enough to get started. Many of your questions will best be answered by actually building.

I totally agree :)